Grandpa’s Nail Caddy

Grandpa's Nail Caddy

When Hubby and I got married about 1.5 years ago we had a rustic country wedding. I was on the lookout for wooden crates, burlap and mason jars. I remembered seeing an old wooden caddy in my moms garage and asked if I could borrow it for the big day. She handed it over happily and explained that it was her dad’s (whom I never had the pleasure of meeting before he passed away). He apparently used it for organizing nails. Its got some dingy paint on it and lots of dings and notches out of the wood. For the wedding, it held our programs and a few mason jars of flowers and herbs. Today, the caddy rests on our island in our country kitchen and holds an assortment of handy kitchen crap. Spice shakers and sugar, coasters and candles. The great thing is that you can switch it out…. maybe have jams or jars of utensils, sauces, or condiments. This caddy has made its way into our home and my mom recently commented that she was pleased to see it being used. A few people have asked why I don’t paint it, or remove the speckles of 20 year old paint, but it’s perfect the way it is. Tomorrow I plan on using it on the table at brunch to hold a few jars of Smuckers jam and coffee condiments. What would you use it for?

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

