Healthy Carrot Muffins

Healthy Carrot Muffins

With a bag of carrots sitting in the bottom of the fridge, with no hope in hell of being eaten anytime soon, I had to find a recipe where I could turn these rabbit-food nutrients into something both Hubby and I could enjoy. I scoured my Pinterest for a carrot-friendly recipe and found a pin for “healthy” carrot muffins. One would think that most carrot muffins are healthy but in reality alot of muffins and quick breads are laden with sugar. I took one look at this recipe and deemed it worthy of a try.

1 cup raisins
2 cups warm water
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
4 eggs
1 cup vegetable oil
3/4 cup brown sugar
3 cups shredded carrots

Combine raisins and water in a small bowl. Let soak for 15 minutes. Drain raisins, discard water and set raisins aside.
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease muffin cups or line with paper muffin liners.
In a large bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.
In a separate bowl, combine eggs, oil and brown sugar; beat well.
Combine egg mixture and flour mixture; mix just until moistened. Fold in carrots and drained raisins. Spoon into prepared muffin cups.
Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 30 minutes.

I made one batch, tried one, which was still warm out of the oven with some not-so-healthy peanut butter, and was so impressed I made another batch (without raisins since I ran out). Now I have a bunch of healthy muffins for quick breakfasts which I can grab between caring for Junior and chasing the dogs around.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

