Morning Meltdown Muffins

Morning Meltdown Muffins

Well I’ve been on maternity leave just over 4 weeks now and the other day I received an email from my dream job stating that I had made it through to the next level (a written exam). Now, I don’t even recall when I applied for the job, must have been at least a year ago, but the process takes a while, so of course I was so excited, but… but… I’m on mat leave. Don’t they know this (insert unhappy face)?. My saving grace, in my immediate predicament, is that I was supposed to write the exam pretty much the same day that Junior is expected, but they allowed me to write it today. So I studied my brains out for the test, and I think I aced it. Thinking that it would take another year for the next step, I waddled to the front of the room and handed in my exam. With one hand protectively covering my giant baby belly I thanked the human resources lady for accommodating me. She then said I would hear back in the next few weeks if I had made it to the interview stage (sigh). On one hand, I’m super excited… this IS my dream job. BUT, on the other hand I want to stay home with Junior for as long as possible, relishing in the cuteness of baby adventures. I want to garden barefoot this summer, watching my dogs chase butterflies. I certainly don’t want to count my chickens before they hatch and its very hard to get into this organization, so I came home and tried to take my mind off of it and promptly did what I said I wasn’t going to do…I baked.

I call these my Morning Meltdown Muffins. Chalk-full of seeds, antioxidant filled blueberries, and nuts, these muffins will be a god send during those chaotic mornings where Junior is crying, hubby has one foot out the door to work and the dogs are barking at every little noise. A quick nuke in the microwave, a little bit of butter, or even served with some yogurt, I picture myself gobbling one down on the run. Now today’s recipe is going off kilter… I found a pretty generic muffin recipe and then started throwing in all kinds of ingredients. It might have had something to do with the stress of worrying about my exam and the possible pending decisions we would need to make as a family, but I think the muffins turned out pretty good. A bit on the drier side, but they’d be great with jam as well. Yum!

Morning Meltdown Muffins
2 cups of flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 brown sugar
1 cup oil
3 eggs beaten
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup of rolled oats

I then added handfuls (yes a “handful” is an accurate form of measurement in my household) of walnuts, sunflower seeds, almond slivers, chocolate chips and bran nuggets, as well as about 1 cup of frozen blueberries and a tablespoon of honey.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

