Spicy Cabbage Rolls

done

Last week I decided to cook something easy so I grabbed a frozen cabbage roll casserole that I purchased on sale at the grocery store.  (you can stop reading right here and see what my issue was… “something easy” is never easy in my house, “frozen cabbage roll casserole” does not sound appealing, and “on sale” is not always good). Well, that casserole smelled like a dogs fart on a hot sweaty day, and one whiff of it and I turned my nose up at its mushy messiness.  It sat in the fridge for a few days begging for someone to eat it, but I soon put it out of its misery come garbage day.

So I’m on a mission to make and freeze items that normally would taste horrid when store bought, ie. the above mentioned cabbage rolls.  And since I can’t seem to follow a recipe for the life of me, here’s what I came up with.

Spicy Cabbage Rolls

1 cup chopped white onion

1 cup red cabbage diced (I had some left over, and it’s a great way to sneak in some more veg)

1 large clove of garlic minced

Combine in pan with oil and sauté until onions are transparent.  Remove to a large bowl.

2 cups cooked rice

2 cups diced mushrooms

Cook in pan until heated through and well combined. Remove to the same large bowl.

1 lbs of ground beef

6 Italian sausages removed from their casings.

Brown together and try to break up the meat as much as possible.

Add salt and pepper

1 tsp of chili flakes

1 tsp of chili powder

Stir and remove to the large bowl.

While meat is cooking, roast 6 tomatillos, ½ of a white onion and 3 jalapenos in the oven at 400 degrees for 20 mins (drizzled with oil, and salt and pepper).

For the sauce, combine 1 can of spaghetti sauce, 1 can of crushed tomatoes and the chopped roasted tomatillos and onion into a large bowl. Add chopped roasted jalapenos one at a time until desired spice is achieved.

The bowl of filler should be pretty cool by now, so add 3 eggs and mix together.

I have no patience for the traditional boiling of the cabbage, so I placed the head in my sink and ran steaming hot tap water over it and peeled the leaves away. Soak the leaves in the hot water in the sink until ready to stuff.  If the leaves are still not pliable, shove them into the microwave for 1 min (the water on the leaves will steam them).  Now stuff them, burrito style and place in a casserole dish.

Pour sauce over top and cook 30 mins at 350 degrees (adding cheese if desired) or cover in tinfoil and freeze for a cold winter day (thaw partially and cook for I’m guessing 1 hour)!  Serve with garlic bread and chef’s salad.

cabbage1

Take that disgusting grocery store cabbage rolls!!!

Leave a Reply

