My Poor Truck

truck

Arg, so it’s been another long week. With money being an ever present concern, we’ve had to discuss our budget plans for this year. Initially we planned to replace the roof shingles and build a deck. Then, we changed that to shingles and a shed. Then, we decided the roof can wait another year and we settled on a deck and a shed. Either way, those are some mighty big ticket items, as we don’t want to just get a tiny shed, or get the cheapest shingles, or the smallest deck. Since this is our dream home we plan on doing things right, thus we try to stick to 2 items a year to work on. With one guaranteed income which basically is allocated to pay off the mortgage and bills, and my not so guaranteed income that is responsible for groceries, our home has to run on a tight budget.  We thrive on under the table payment plans, favors from friends, and avoiding using credit cards. We still find ourselves indebted to several places at once, but we somehow manage. It’s been quite the battle of the minds since I was raised to pay and then play to ensure you have enough money, and if you don’t need it, well, you don’t get it. Hubby on the other hand is quick to spend and say “we’ll make it happen”, but this can be very stressful since I haven’t quite forgotten his wild financial ways before we settled down.  Hubby and I pretty much only fight about money, and they say that money doesn’t buy happiness, but I’m pretty sure you wouldn’t hear me complain if my huge hydro bill disappeared or my cell phone was free.

To add to our recent stressful summer plans conversation, my truck decided to get itself all rusted through and need a new gas tank. Hubby says my truck is a danger to society and will explode any second, and our “constant” repairs are a waste of time and money. We should just go out and buy a new one. I say, it hasn’t needed more than $400 in repairs/upkeep per year, it’s paid off, my dad is a mechanic and there is no way one income can support all the bills, let alone a new car, with monthly payments for the next 7 years. When I go back to work, for sure I will consider a new vehicle, but when you are a stay at home mom, and you’re not making any money, you make do.  We agreed to get it fixed, and it has been a painful week being carless. It’s supposed to go up on the hoist tomorrow and hopefully it will be a quick fix. This truck has gotten be into all kinds of adventures over the years and since it was my first vehicle, I sort of have some sentimental attachment to it. I don’t want to trade it in for a mini van. And I kind of like how the ABS light is always on. I love my truck. Please truck, come home soon.

Leave a Reply

